Best Do It at a Bit of a Run

October 10, 2009

sarah bw rightI make a living as a professional writer, spending every week day (and too often weekend) creating web content, press releases, corporate blog posts, memos, emails, proposals, etc. in the name of the company for which I am dutifully employed. I’ve wanted to do some personal blogging for many months now but have created one excuse after another for not doing it. Here’s the abridged version:

“I don’t want to spend any more time in front of a computer than I already have to.”

“I don’t have time for personal writing; I have kids.”

“My life isn’t exciting enough to interest anyone but my closest friends.”

“What on earth would I say?”

Today, I’m done with excuses, and I’m taking the plunge. My doubts still nag at me, but I’ve decided that it’s time to do something for myself. I love to write, and I hand over the “author within me” every day in exchange for a salary. Today, I’m taking some of it back. And I hope to push myself in new directions—writing with a bit of wit here and there, instead of my usual corporate blah.

So this is post one, and many more to come. I’m going to keep in mind some wise advice from J.K. Rowling’s Mrs. Weasley:

“Best do it at a bit of a run if you’re nervous.”

Published in: on October 10, 2009 at 9:55 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fournords.wordpress.com/2009/10/10/best-do-it-at-a-bit-of-a-run/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Yea!! I love this! I am so excited to start reading you. Let me know when you start writing blog posts in your head as family events/calamities/comedies play out.


Leave a Reply

